Orphans of the Ash: Ellipsis


PRE-ORDER Orphans of the Ash is the ongoing collaboration of Zal Cleminson and Billy McGonagle. The Glasgow duo offers the listener a feather-light encounter with dark and brutal metal. We are proud to present their debut album “Ellipsis”, fully remastered for vinyl.

“What a duo. What an album. I could pontificate about Ellipsis until the cows come home, then I could send the cows away on a long holiday so that I could pontificate about the album some more. It’s immaculate.” (All Things Metallic)

Category: Tag:


Together, Zal Cleminson and Billy McGonagle have created an album that doesn’t fit into the expected. Rooted in the rock of the seventies, they meet the barren metal of today, but do so with a feather-light feel. Zal Cleminson, who, unusually, has stepped up to the vocal microphone, sings with strong and convincing emotion and he does so with a distortion that evokes the apocalyptic spirit of the cover. “Ellipsis” is a both tough and beautiful record.

The approachable “Last Train Home” has already become something of a hit and the opening “Evolution Road” has a good chance of becoming a rock classic.

The album was originally released by the band themselves on CD. This is a completely remastered edition, with master by Swedish Jonas Siöström at Dynamic Audio. The result is a world-class listening experience.

Please note: The album is released on the 1st of March, 2024 and will be shipped when available in stores.

“Ellipsis” comes with a download card

The digital version of “Ellipsis” contains two songs that we have removed from the vinyl disc in consultation with the artist. This is to ensure the high quality of the vinyl edition. When you buy the disc, you also get a download card, which gives you access to all the songs on the album in the highest possible quality.

Tracks on Ellipsis

Side A

  1. Evolution Road (6:07)
  2. Ratneck (3:23)
  3. Psychodrama (3:50)
  4. Blind Machine (5:58)
  5. Starship Babyboo (5:29)

Side B

  1. Last Train Home (3:50)
  2. Hammerhead (4:36)
  3. Poison Wood (4:11)
  4. Ten Years Screaming (4:59)
  5. Jour d’Armageddon (7:59)



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Orphans of the Ash: Ellipsis”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *